Kansas Honey Producers

Business Meeting Minutes

11/6/2021

The meeting was called to order at approximately 4:00 p.m., at the Courtyard by Marriott, Salina, KS, by President Becky Tipton.

The meeting was attended by those present for the Fall KHPA Meeting.

Board members not present: Kristi Sanderson, Sondra Koehn.

Treasurer's Report:

Robert Burns summarized the treasurer's report. The account information given is available on the club's website for review. Robert also reported the State Fair financial details, and the Scholarship Program account.

First Vice President's Report:

Joli Winer resigned from the First Vice President's position. She thanked Cecil Sweeney and Robert Burns for all the help and support they have given in previous years. She would like to retain the position of planning the new value added program Extracting More \$\$\$ From Your Hives.

Third Vice President's Report

Julie Cahoj reported that the Scholarship Program was being extended to include groups or organizations, in the community, regardless of age. The deadline for submitting this years' applications is 1.1.2022. The application can be found and completed online. One of the purposes of the program is to establish new honey bee colonies in the state.

Legislative Committee

Brian Withrow reported on behalf of the committee. The committee is establishing a relationship and working with K State on developing programs to promote honey bees. Some areas focused on include farmer's markets, roadway development, and reported bee losses.

Old Business

Julie Cahoj is leading a project to update the club's constitution. The purpose for the revision is to align practices with procedures. The committee's goal is to have a revised constitution ready for approval at the club's spring 2022 meeting.

New Business

Cecil Sweeney reported that the club is looking for anyone interested in donating a bee hive to the club. They would be given a lifetime membership in the club. The club is also looking for additional locations to place club-owned colonies. At the present, Nikki Bowman and Stephanie Brown have volunteered to take the responsibility for some of the 12 colonies that need relocating from the SAVE Farm.

Election of officers

President: 0 nominations from the floor. Office will be retained by Becky Tipton.

Second Vice President: 0 nominations from the floor. Kristi Sanderson will retain the office.

Treasurer: 0 nominations from the floor. The treasurer's office will be retained by Robert Burns.

First Vice President: Greg Swob, Hayes, KS, nominated from the floor. Seconded by Brian Withrow. It was suggested, from the floor, that a committee be formed assist the First Vice President.

Northeast Area Representative: Jo Patrick, Olathe, KS, nominated by Chad Gilliland. Seconded by Matthew Brandes.

Northwest Area Representative: Dienna Gebhart, Ogallah, KS nominated from the floor. Seconded by Brian Withrow.

The club voted by acclamation with unanimous votes for all nominated.

Meeting was adjourned, by President Becky Tipton, at approximately 4:40 p.m.

Next meeting: TBD

Minutes submitted by: Jo Patrick

Minutes approved by: